Welcome back to the willow tea rooms.
Miss cranston willow tea rooms.
The willow tea rooms are now recognised as a masterpiece of mackintosh design but when they opened in 1903 they were branded with miss cranston s name and few knew much about the designer.
Celia was inspired by pioneering glasgow businesswoman miss cranston who in 1903 commissioned the young and still largely unknown mackintosh to design the luxurious cutting edge tea rooms with.
Located at 215 217 sauchiehall street the original willow tearooms building has undergone an extensive restoration in a bid to return the building to its former glory of when it originally opened in 1903.
Mackintosh at the willow operates as a not for profit social enterprise creating training learning employment and other opportunities and support for young people and communities.
The street and surrounding area are part of the new town of blythswood created largely by william harley of blythswood square in the early 1800s.
Inspired by the works of charles rennie mackintosh the willow tea rooms at 97 buchanan street is the place to go when out and about in the city centre.
The willow tea rooms trust was established in 2014 as a charity with the aim of acquiring miss cranston s tea rooms at 217 sauchiehall street glasgow the building is now in ownership of the trust.
With a selection of loose teas and freshly ground coffees freshly made cakes scones soups and sandwiches there s plenty to choose from all enjoyed in the stunning historic surroundings designed by charles rennie mackintosh for miss kate cranston.
Whether you re treating yourself to one of our decadent champagne afternoon teas or a simple pot of tea and home baked scone we re ready to serve you safely at the tearooms.
Now that the trust have succeeded in restoring the building to its former glory it continues to focus its effort on the advancement of the arts heritage and culture by.
Charles rennie mackintosh had been born in glasgow in 1868 and when kate cranston first commissioned him to design the wall murals of her buchanan tearooms he was only 28.
The tea rooms are modelled on kate cranston s ingram street tea rooms from the early 1900s recreating the fabulous interiors from the white dining room and the chinese blue room.
The willow tearooms opened at 217 sauchiehall in october 1903.
We are reopened for breakfast lunch afternoon tea and our famous home baking seven days a week.
The name sauchiehall is derived from saugh the scots word for a willow.
The location selected by miss cranston for the new tearooms was a four storey former warehouse building on a narrow infill urban site on the south side of sauchiehall street.